BCCI announces India's squad for ODI, KL Rahul to Lead

BCCI announces India’s squad for ODI, KL Rahul to Lead

BCCI announces India’s squad for ODI, KL Rahul to Lead, Ashwin Makes Comeback

ODI Squad:

BCCI announces India’s squad Rohit Sharma who is recovering from a hamstring injury, has been ruled from both the test and ODI series and he is still going under rehab, And in his absence, KL Rahul going to lead India in a White ball format against South Africa, and pacer Jasprit Bumrah has been appointed as Vice-captain.

BCCI’s chief selector Chetan Sharma said “we are looking KL Rahul as three format player and he got good experience of captaincy”, he further stated that KL Rahul has a good captaincy record and he has proven his leadership qualities.

When Rohit Sharma is not Fit we (selectors) thought KL is the right fit to lead the side, the selectors are confident about him and they are grooming him.

And Veteran off-spinner Ravi Ashwin made his comeback into the ODI squad after 4 years, the series is going to start from January 19th, Ashwin has picked 150 wickets in 111 ODI he has played.

Ashwin had a pretty impressive T20 WC and in IPL he is being very good for Delhi Capital, which made his case strong for White ball cricket, along with Ashwin the team has got 7 young players, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Washington Sundar, Ventakesh Iyer made the cut into the team.

Fast bowler Mohammad Shami has been rested for the ODI series because of workload management and along with him all-rounders Ravindra Jadeja and Axar Patel were unavailable for the selection as both of them recovering from their respective injuries.

In the large squad, only three spinners have been included and the same number of wicketkeepers are available in the team with the likes of KL Rahul, Rishabh Pant, and Ishan Kishan in the 18 man squad.

India’s ODI Squad for South Africa Series goes as:

India squad: KL Rahul (c), Shikhar Dhawan, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Venkatesh Iyer, Rishabh Pant, Ishan Kishan, Ravichandran Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Washington Sundar, Jasprit Bumrah (VC), Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Deepak Chahar, Prasidh Krishna, Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Siraj

Leave a Reply