ICC Awards Smriti Mandhana

ICC Awards: Smriti Mandhana bags the Women Cricketer of the Year

ICC Awards:

ICC Awards: India’s flamboyant opener Smiriti Mandhana was named ICC Cricketer of the Year for the second time for her

stellar run in the across format in 2021 as well and apart from being Cricketer of the year Mandhana is got place into ICC T20

Women team of the year. Smriti Mandhana won the award in the year 2018 as well and at that, she was also named ICC

Women’s ODI Player of the Year she is the only Women cricketer to win this distinction in the overall category.

Smriti Mandhana is the second Indian player to win this award after the veteran Women cricketer Jhulan Goswami who won this

award back in 2007, although for the Indian Women team the year 2021 wasn’t that great.

in the eight home games against the South Africa Women team, the Indian women team was able to win only 2 games and

Smriti Mandhana played a key role in both matches, in the ODI match the southpaw scored 80 runs to help the Indian

team chase a target of 158 to help the Indian team in leveling the series, and then she scored 48 runs in the final T20i

to help the Indian team in winning the match. Her stellar runs did not remain till white-ball format, in a one-off test

match Against the England women’s team she scored 78 runs,  although the result of the match was a draw, then she scored an important knock of 49 runs to register India’s only win in the ODI series.

Shaheen Shah Afridi

Apart from Smriti Mandhana, Pakistan’s ace fast bowler Shaheen Shah Afridi win’s the ICC men’s Cricketer of the year,

Shaheen Shah Afridi took 78 wickets in 36 matches with an average of 22.20 with best figures of 6/51.

His spell against India in the T20 World Cup is the highlight of his career, where he rattled India’s top order with his pace and swing.

Leave a Reply