New Zealand World Champion

New Zealand became the ‘World Champion’ of Test cricket

World Champion: New Zealand has become the first world champion of Test cricket. New Zealand beat India by 8 wickets in the last session on the reserve day of the ICC World Test Championship Final, which began on 18 July in Southampton. With this, the team captained by Kane Williamson has won the title of Test Championship. Chasing the target of 139 runs from India, New Zealand defeated India based on a superb third-wicket partnership between captain Kane Williamson (52 not out) and Ross Taylor (47 not out).

India vs New Zealand

Match Highlights

Surrender of Indian batting on last day

India needed good batting on the last day, but in the first half-hour of the first session, the situation worsened due to the wickets of captain Virat Kohli and Cheteshwar Pujara. Rishabh Pant (41) tried to handle the innings with Rahane and Jadeja, but the Indian team failed to make a big score and the entire team was reduced to just 170 runs in the second innings. In this innings for New Zealand, Saudi took 4 and Bolt took 3 wickets.

Williamson-Taylor made World Champion

India had a modest target of just 139 runs in front of New Zealand, but India started well and Ashwin expressed some hope for India by dismissing both the openers early. The Indian bowlers also created pressure by getting some good overs, but captain Williamson (52) and Ross Taylor (47) made a memorable partnership to make the team world champions by giving them a spectacular and historic victory. Both added 96 not out.

India vs New Zealand,  WTC Final 2021 Day 6: New Zealand became the world champion of Test cricket, beat India by 8 wickets

Tremendous Kiwi openers

New Zealand’s opening batsmen batted brilliantly in the final. Tom Latham (30) and Devon Conway (54) shared a 70-run partnership in the first innings. In the second innings also, both the batsmen gave a good start to the team. Both shared a 33-run partnership. Latham scored 9 and Conway made 19. The wicket of both was taken by off-spinner R Ashwin. After the fall of two wickets for 44 runs, Kane Williamson (52 *) and Ross Taylor (47 *) made a partnership of 96 runs to ensure victory. When Taylor was on 26, Pujara dropped his catch at first slip off Bumrah. The team had to score 55 more runs at that time. Williamson played important innings of 49 runs in the first innings as well.

The team won the second ICC title

New Zealand’s team won the second ICC title. In the final of the Champions Trophy in 2000, New Zealand defeated Team India. Team India had scored 264 runs for 6 wickets while playing first. In reply, New Zealand achieved the target with two balls to spare for the loss of 6 wickets. Chris Cairns scored an unbeaten 102.

World Champion

ICC: 📸 #NewCoverPic
World Champion Source: ICC


Leave a Reply